Icarus, saved

Icarus-wings-of-wax

I used the username waxedwings after reading about the story of Icarus. Greek mythology dictates that Icarus wanted to escape Crete by flying out, so his father Daedalus constructed them both pairs of wings made of feathers and wax. Daedalus took flight first, and warning his son to not fly too close to the sun or the sea, only to follow him. Icarus, overcome with the thrill and freedom of flight, soared too high into the sky. Too close to the sun. His wings melted off and soon he realized he was falling into the ocean we now call The Icarian Sea.

I was Icarus. My Father gave me wings and freedom to fly but I failed to heed his guide. I failed to follow Him. And it was in the time that my wings were melting off and I felt myself falling that I saw life as a lost cause for me. My waxed wings had melted and I was in a terrible decline.

But the beauty of grace is that it makes life not fair, and He has saved me. He has given me wings that the heat of the enemy cannot destroy and I’m ready to tell the world that.

I hope you don’t expect me to be all Christiany now. I don’t want to give you the impression that because I have a faith, I’m better than you or others. I’m not. I want to share my struggles as much as I share my crossed hurdles. I want to share my journey, in all it’s falls and glories. I also want to share the aspects of my life that go beyond my spiritual walk, such as my tendency to eat coconut EVERYTHING, and the fun I get from punching people. I’m here to talk real life. so Real Life you will get.

Till then,
Weish.

Leave a Reply

